We solve the material problems of maritime coatings

WRETEC offers services such as failure analyses, process development and investigations on corrosion issues for shipyards, ship owners, paint manufacturers, insurances and other parties involved with corrosion protection and marine coatings. We work especially on Superyachts, but also with other marine and energy applications. We are aiming to become the world's leading troubleshooters when it comes to coating and corrosion protection of marine structures.

News

Latest news about WRETEC

Video Production in Hamburg

20. May 2018

The new star at WreTec, the subsidiary of WREDE Consulting, is a high-resolution 3D microscope. With its spectacular 6000-times...

Why does painted aluminum corrode faster than bare aluminum?

12. April 2018

Aluminum is commonly used in the marine industry as light weight and long life construction material. If direct contact with other metals,...

Wretec on the move!

07. December 2016

Dear friends and clients, Wretec will be moving their office to a new address on December 14th, 2016. Please bear with us if...

Searching and Identifying the Causes of Coating Damage

May 17th, 2018

Wretec works with new electronic 3D microscope

Observing coating damage is reactively easy, identifying its cause is much more difficult. To overcome this WreTec, a subsidiary of Wrede Consulting, are now using a high resolution mobile microscope to detect faults not visible to the naked eye.

This device would be the star among any series of forensic pathologist equipment. With the new electronic 3D microscope, WreTec scientists can accurately identify surface damage – at a resolution that lies far beyond the perceptible vision range. The tiniest details are luminously magnified up to 6,000 times and displayed as a three-dimensional image or video.

"With these high-resolution images, we can prove what was previously only suspected," explains WreTec Managing Director Jan Reygers: “It means that we are advancing into entirely new dimensions in terms of analysing yacht coatings."

The high-resolution device not only identifies visible, damage but, more importantly, also enables the causes to be determined. "A flaking clear coat can be examined with such precision in-situ that we can deduce whether the coating technician had performed any sanding between the application of the individual coatings and whether the achieved surface preparation was sufficient," says Reygers. "The equipment also enables other types of surface damage to be displayed and categorized. "For example, whether the paint was scratched during washing or if a smeared layer of polish has spoiled the surface.”

These findings are immensely important with regards to rectifications and determining the correct repair concept. This is important when it comes to resolving warranty claims worth millions. "Not only are we able to determine problems that are present and what may be responsible for them, but also the rectification methods, continues Jan Reygers. He adds, "The decisive factor is that our microscope is mobile, i.e. we can carry out our investigations on-site – irrespective of the location, without undertaking any major preparatory work in a very quick response time. Real time displays then assist in facilitating clear decision-making."

The possible fields of application for the device are as multifaceted as the problems that arise with the coatings. "We can use the 3D microscope to undertake on-site investigations that previously required samples to be taken over a large area, which were then subject to time-consuming laboratory analyses," adds Pavel Jeljakin, Materials Scientist at WreTec. "As soon as the steel or aluminium has been blasted, minimal residues can be detected that lead to corrosion and bubbling of the subsequent coat over a large-area. With painted aluminium, this is a frequently underestimated and, up to now, completely invisible defect."

Dust inclusions, inadequately mixed materials, air pockets or ruptured micro-balloons in the resin can also be clearly identified. Not to mention maintenance errors caused by incorrect washing or polishing, which can be seen with impressive effect.

To do this, the sensitive device can be set up at almost any location aboard the vessel: "Not only can we inspect yachts in dock or at their moorings worldwide – we can, where necessary, use it at any anchorage that the WreTec experts can reach."

The WreTec experts developed the mountings for the mobile optics using a 25-tonne mock-up, which is available for training and testing purposes. "Only very few have this luxury," laughs Jan Reygers.

In this respect, WreTec naturally benefits from its parent company Wrede Consulting, which is now one of the world’s leading paint consultants in the superyacht sector. For the company's CEO, Kay Wrede, the electronic 3D microscope’s introduction is the logical progression of his 30+ years of experience: "This device is a dream for us surveyors! Discussions have previously failed due to the lack of determining and proving the defect – but that is now a thing of the past!"

Team

Talk to us

Wir lösen Materialprobleme bei maritimen Beschichtungen

WRETEC bietet Leistungen von der Fehler-Analyse, über Prozessentwicklung, bis zur Untersuchung von Korrosionsproblemen oder die Qualitätskontrolle der verarbeiteten Materialien. Unser Service wendet sich an Werften, Yachteigner, Farbenhersteller, Versicherungen und andere Anwender im Superyachtsektor, die sich mit den Korrosionsschutz und maritimen Beschichtungen beschäftigen.

News

Aktuelle Meldungen rund um WRETEC

Videoproduktion in Hamburg

20. Mai 2018

Der neue Star bei WreTec, der Tochtergesellschaft von WREDE Consulting, ist ein hoch auflösendendes 3-D-Mikroskop. Mit seiner spektakulären...

Warum korrodiert beschichtetes Aluminium schneller als...

12. April 2018

Alumnium ist in der maritimen Industrie als Leichtbauwerkstoff weit verbreitet. Wenn der direkte Kontakt mit anderen Metallen vermieden...

Wretec zieht um!

07. Dezember 2016

Liebe Kunden, liebe Freunde, das Wretec-Büro bezieht am 14. Dezember 2016 neue Räume. Wir bitten um Verständnis, falls es mit der...

Suche und Idendifikation von Gründen für Beschichtungsschäden

17. Mai 2018

WreTec mit neuem elektronischen 3D-Mikroskop

Mängel einer Beschichtung zu sehen ist das Eine, deren Ursachen zu erkennen das Andere. WreTec, ein Tochterunternehmen von Wrede Consulting, setzt jetzt ein hochauflösendes, mobil einsetzbares Mikroskop ein, das im nicht sichtbaren Bereich ermittelt.

Dieses Gerät wäre der Star jeder Serie über Gerichtsmediziner. Mit ihrem neuen elektronischen 3D-Mikroskop stellen die WreTec Wissenschaftler Oberflächenschäden glasklar dar – in einer Auflösung, die weit außerhalb des wahrnehmbaren Bereichs liegt. Kleinste Details werden lichtstark bis zu 6000fach vergrößert und dreidimensional als Bild oder Video dargestellt.

„Mit diesen hoch auflösenden Bildern können wir beweisen, was bisher nur vermutet wurde“ erklärt WreTec Geschäftsführer Jan Reygers: „damit dringen wir bei der Analyse von Yachtbeschichtungen in völlig neue Dimensionen vor.“

Schäden können mit dem hochauflösenden Gerät nicht nur sichtbar gemacht, sondern vor allem auch deren Ursachen ermittelt werden. „Ein abgeplatzter Klarlack kann vor Ort so genau untersucht werden, dass wir herausfinden können, ob der Applikateur zwischen den einzeln Lackschichten auch geschliffen hat. Und ob die erreichte Rauhtiefe ausreichend war“ sagt Reygers: „ aber auch andere Beschädigungen der Oberfläche können damit dargestellt und zugeordnet werden.“ Also zum Beispiel, ob der Lack beim Waschen zerkratzt wurde oder ob eine verschmierte Schicht Politur die Oberfläche verschandelt.

Vor allem bei Millionen teuren Garantiefällen, Nachbesserungen und Zweifeln über das korrekte Reparaturkonzept sind solche Erkenntnisse immens wichtig. “Wir können nicht nur herausfinden, welcher Fehler vorliegt, sondern auch was dafür verantwortlich war und wie er behoben werden kann“ so Jan Reygers weiter. „Entscheidend ist: wir sind mit dem Mikroskop mobil, d.h. wir können – egal wo – ohne große Vorbereitungen vor Ort untersuchen. Echtzeitdarstellungen ermöglichen klare Entscheidungen.“

Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten des Gerätes sind dabei so vielfältig wie die bei Beschichtungen auftretenden Probleme. „Wir können mit dem 3D- Mikroskop Untersuchungen vor Ort machen, die bisher großflächige Probenentnahmen nötig machten und zeitaufwändigen Laboranalysen vorbehalten waren“ ergänzt Pavel Jeljakin, Materialwissenschaftler bei WreTec. „Schon nach dem Strahlen von Stahl oder Aluminium können minimale Rückstände nachgewiesen werden, die zu Korrosion und großflächigem Aufblühen der nachfolgenden Beschichtung führen. Das ist gerade bei lackiertem Aluminium ein häufig unterschätzter und bisher völlig unsichtbarer Fehler.“

Aber auch Staubeinschlüsse, unvollständig gemischte Materialien, Airpockets oder zerstörte Mikroballoons im Spachtel sind eindeutig nachzuweisen. Ganz abgesehen von Maintenancefehlern durch falsches Waschen oder Polieren, die eindrucksvoll dargestellt werden können.

Dafür kann das sensible Gerät an nahezu jeder Stelle an Bord aufgestellt werden: „ wir können Yachten nicht nur im Dock oder weltweit an ihren Liegeplätzen untersuchen – wenn nötig auch an jedem Ankerplatz, den die Wretec-Experten erreichen können.“

Die Aufhängung der mobilen Optiken haben die WreTec-Experten an einem 25 Tonnen schweren Mockup entwickelt, das bei ihnen zu Ausbildungs- und Testzwecken auf dem Hof steht. „Diesen Luxus haben bestimmt nur die Wenigsten“, lacht Jan Reygers.

Da profitiert WreTec natürlich von der Mutterfirma Wrede Consulting, die mittlerweile zu den weltweit führenden Paint Consultants im Superyachtbereich zählt. Für deren CEO Kay Wrede ist der Einsatz des elektronischen 3 D-Mikroskops eine logische Folge seiner über 30jährigen Erfahrung: „ das Gerät ist für uns Surveyor ein Traum! Bis jetzt scheitern Diskussionen an der mangelnden Beweisbarkeit – damit ist jetzt Schluss!“

Team

Sprechen Sie mit uns

Wretec - Mikroskop Video